Thinking of Traveling in the U.S.? Check Which States Have Travel Restrictions


People from “orange” states are also asked to stay home, but should they visit, they can either quarantine or obtain a negative virus test result no more than 72 hours before their arrival. As of Nov. 20, those requirements will apply to: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Washington and West Virginia.

Nonessential travel from the “yellow” states is discouraged, but there are no restrictions for travelers from these lower-risk areas, which as of Nov. 20 will include only Hawaii, Maine and Vermont.

More information can be found here.

As of Nov. 17, there were no statewide restrictions in Indiana.

As of Nov. 17, there were no statewide restrictions in Iowa.

Residents and visitors who visited South Dakota on or after Nov. 4 or North Dakota on or after Oct. 21 are required to quarantine for two weeks. Quarantine restrictions also apply to those who attended any out-of-state gathering that included 500 people or more where individuals did not wear masks and socially distance by six feet, and anyone who was on a cruise ship or river cruise after March 15.

Kentucky recommends a 14-day quarantine for those who visited the following states: Alabama, Arizona, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Utah, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

As of Nov. 17, there were no statewide restrictions in Louisiana.

Residents of New Hampshire and Vermont are allowed to enter the state without restriction. Everyone else must either self-quarantine for 14 days or sign a document stating that they had a negative result to a PCR or antigen coronavirus test within the previous 72 hours. The rule also applies to those taking a day trip out of state. Those in quarantine are allowed to leave their hotel only for limited outdoor activities, such as hiking, when no other people are around.

An exemption to the testing exists for those under the age of 18 who are traveling from a nonexempt state to Maine with adults who have a recent negative test. Maine residents who travel to a state not on the exempted list must also quarantine when they return or, alternatively, test negative for the virus.

Like it? Share with your friends!


What's Your Reaction?

hate hate
confused confused
fail fail
fun fun
geeky geeky
love love
lol lol
omg omg
win win


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *